The Lorien Legacies by Pittacus Lore (My Review)

I’ve read the first two in the series – ‘I am Number Four’ and ‘The Power of Six’, and have just bought the newly released ‘The Rise of Nine’ which is book three in a series of six (I think!) books. They are more science fiction than my preferred fantasy genre, but don’t let that put you off. They’re all set on planet earth and the characters are, for the most part aliens that look just like us. The only difference is, they’re all here because a race of planet-destroying aliens called Mogadorians are hunting them down one by one.

Nine children were said to have been rushed off Lorien in order to save the race before the Mogs destroyed everyone. It turns out in the second of the books that a tenth child was actually shipped off to Earth, which is a good thing because the Mogs are picking them off one by one, in order of their numbers. The more the merrier! Each kid was numbered one to nine, and one, two and three are already dead. Every time one of them dies, a new scar is burned into the skin of the remaining kids.

Each was selected because of their potential to survive. Some were mega intelligent, others were proving to be strong, deviant, or just had excellent bloodlines and upon maturing they all develop their own ‘Legacies’ – powers. Invisibility, super strength or laserbeaming hands to name but a few. And each one was sent with a tutor – a Cepan. They’re there to teach the kids how to develop their legacies and keep them from being killed by the Mogadorians.

What I liked about the books: Number Four has a Chimera. Typical of traditional myths a Chimera is a shape shifting animal. He’s loyal and funny, and doesn’t say a lot, he just does his thing and makes me laugh. I need a Chimera in my life.

Six has an attitude, although she’s a pussycat compared to the newly introduced Nine. She’s strong and outspoken and has a sensitive side. She’s the kind of female lead girls want to be more like. Nothing whiny or petulant about six at all.

I LOVED Nine. If you’ve ever read the Wolvesof Mercy Falls, his behaviour and mannerisms aren’t unlike Cole’s. He’s laid back, laughs at the world, is often selfish and wishes deep down he cared more about the people around him. Nine is my favourite Lorien.

Second favourite is Sam. Sam is a nerd (human) who wears Nasa t-shirts and probably knows more about space than any other kid in the entire state. He’s brave, sweet and totally out of his depth, but he’s also a little like a dog with a bone. Once he’s got his mind set on something there’s no chance of changing it. If that leads to his death, capture or imprisonment, then Sam’s the guy who carries on regardless.

Their journey takes Four, Sam and the Chimera all over the US, then later we’re introduced to new Loriens on different continents. One grew up in a convent in Spain, and another spent his life in the mountains of India. With a big cast, these books have never given me time to be bored. Between Four, Six, Eight, Ten, Sam and Sarah, oh and Bernie Kosar (Four’s Chimera), the first two books were action packed and in places total nail biters. The newest book brings Nine and later Five to the table, at which point, because the characters are usually referred to by number rather than name, in places it became a little confusing. At one point all of the existing known Loriens are in the same room. Four, Five, Six, Eight, Nine and Ten. I read the third book without re-visiting the first two. I think if I had revisited them I’d have struggled less. The characters are introduced slowly, and I never had this problem before, so I guess that’s my fault.

Things I didn’t like: Four constantly refers to the Mogadorians, and with it being such a long word, it grated on my nerves quite a bit. For example: The first Mogadorian threw me a look which implied he wanted to tear my throat out. Another Mogadorian lit a cigarette. The mogadorians did this, blah blah. It bugged me. Thankfully, other characters referred to them as Mogs, whicxh was much easier to read. Then Four named his Chimera “Bernie Kosar”. For the same reason, Bernie Kosar scratched his head. Bernie Kosar ran through the trees. Bernie Kosar licked Sarah’s face. Intermingled with the Mogadorians I found myself a little frustrated. Until Four started referring to him a BK. Much easier.

I also didn’t particularly like Sarah. She seemed whiny, totally girly, and was said to be popular but I didn’t ever get to understand why people liked her, other than the fact she was beautiful. It didn’t make sense to me. She talks like a nine year old, and I’d much rather have seen Four ditch her for Six, who has a badder attitude and a lot more in common with him (not limited to the fact they’re both aliens with superpowers destined to return to some far away galaxy someday).

Regardless, the books are fabulous. They’re action packed, diverse in location and unlike so many Ya books, the bad guys are involved constantly. I’ve waited a long time for the third installment, and it didn’t disappoint. Nine brings a whole new perspective to the party and I’m pretty sure Seven, if ever he or she shows up will bring even more. I just hope they all get back to Lorien beofre it’s too late.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books I've read, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a comment